

ENGINEERING RESEARCH COUNCIL

BOARD 2015-2016

OFFICERS

Randy Moses CHAIR

The Ohio State University

William Dunne

CHAIR-ELECT University of Tennessee, Knoxville

John Leonard

SECRETARY/TREASURER Georgia Institute of Technology

DIRECTORS

Anthony Atchley

Pennsylvania State University, University Park

Clare M. Rimnac

Case Western Reserve University

Jennifer Sinclair Curtis

University of Florida

Mark Glauser

Syracuse University

Brian Colby Ten Eyck

University of Arizona

EX-OFFICIO ADVISORY MEMBERS

Joseph J. Rencis

ASEE President Tennessee Technological University

Terri F. Morse

ASEE VICE PRESIDENT FINANCE The Boeing Company

Norman Fortenberry

Executive Director ASEE

1818 N Street, NW Suite 600 Washington, DC 20036 Main (202) 331-3500 Fax (202) 265-8504

ASEE 2015-2016 ASEE Engineering Research Council Report

submitted by Randy Moses Chair, ERC Board of Directors

ERC Objectives:

The following objectives have been set forth in the ERC Bylaws.

- To provide a forum for discussion of problems and exchange of information pertaining to the research activities of ASEE members.
 - To provide research related program content at ASEE meetings.
- To represent and to speak on behalf of research and its administration both externally and within ASEE.
- To improve the effectiveness of research operations at ERC member institutions.
- To establish and maintain liaison with other organizations concerned with research and its administration.

Membership:

Current membership in the ASEE ERC involves about 330 institutional representatives from colleges and universities with engineering and computing programs. A complete list of representatives can be found at: http://www.asee.org/member-resources/councils-and-chapters/engineering-research-council/erc-institutional-members

ERC Board Meetings:

The ERC Board of Directors generally meets in person three times a year, and by teleconference on a monthly basis. During 2015-2015 had three face-to-face meetings on September 25, 2015 at ASEE Headquarters, on March 7 during the ASEE ERC Conference, and (planned) on June 27, 2016 during the ASEE Annual Conference. We held six teleconferences during most of the intervening months.

Major Activities:

One of ERC's primary activities is to plan and host a three-day conference on Engineering Research, which was held on March 7-9, 2016. The conference is primarily attended by engineering research leaders such as associate deans for research, and has two primary goals: 1) to provide attendees an overview of federal R&D budgets and upcoming R&D priorities, and 2) to provide training, information, and resources to engineering research leaders which will help them be more effective and successful at academic research leadership.

New for 2016, and informed strongly by feedback from prior conference attendees, the ERC increased the leadership tools and strategies component of the conference, and reduced time spent on formal presentations by federal agencies, instead asking agency presenters to provide overview summaries and links to more

detailed information. Federal R&D budgets and priorities were presented by speakers or panels including NSF, the Department of Defense, OSTP, AAAS, a congressional representative. Research leadership strategy includes sessions on securing major federal center grants, on data management and public access to publications, on measuring research impact, and on safety culture in research. Conference attendance for 2016 showed a >25% increase from the previous year, which suggests that the new conference format was a positive change.

The ERC also managed the nomination and selection process for the ASEE Curtis McGraw award. The 2016 winner, Michael R. Dickey at North Carolina State University, was selected from a field of more than 25 outstanding candidates. Professor Dickey was recognized for his pioneering research and education on non-toxic liquid metals that form oxide skins which may be patterned into useful shapes at room temperature for soft, stretchable, and shape reconfigurable electronics.

ERC Chair Randy Moses served on the ASEE Board of Directors. In addition, during 2015-2016 ERC Chair Moses also served as VP Institutional Councils, a one-year term that rotates among the four Council chairs; the VP Institutional Councils is also a member of the ASEE Board of Directors Executive Committee. In these roles, ERC participated in several Board-level key initiatives including Strategic Doing, financial stewardship and planning, and Missing and Vision statement drafts.

Board of Directors Membership and Officers:

The Board of Directors at the beginning of the 2015-2016 comprised nine people:

Randy Moses, The Ohio State University, Chair William Dunne, University of Tennessee, Vice Chair John Leonard, Georgia Tech, Secretary/Treasurer Gary Gabriele, Villanova University, Past Chair Anthony Atchley, Pennsylvania State University Clare Rimnac, Case Western Reserve University Jennifer Curtis, University of California – Davis Mark Glauser, Syracuse University Brian Ten Eyck, University of Arizona

Four Board members will depart in June 2016 (Gabriele, Atchley, Curtis, Rimnac). In Spring 2016 the ERC elected five new board members, three for full 3-year terms and two to replace Board members who resigned before the end of their term (Curtis, Rimnac) due to professional position changes. In addition, the two-year terms for Vice Chair, Chair, and Past Chair each step in June of even-numbered years, so Gary Gabriele will leave the Board, Randy Moses will transition from Chair to Past Chair, and William Dunne will transition from Vice Chair to Chair. Beginning June 2016 the Board of Directors comprises:

William Dunne, University of Tennessee, Chair
John Leonard, Georgia Tech, Secretary/Treasurer
Randy Moses, The Ohio State University, Past Chair
Jennifer Bernhard, University of Illinois – Urbana Champaign
Eric Eddings, University of Utah
Mark Glauser, Syracuse University
Susan Hagness, University of Wisconsin – Madison
Pamela Norris, University of Virginia
Brian Ten Eyck, University of Arizona
Jean VanderGheynst, University of California – Davis